A Dinner to Remember

2b71a9f5920d2223cb6f35995909a623

One chilly January night I decided to make a famous Korean dish called Sundubu Jjigae. This is a soft tofu soup that is very spicy and very tasty. Usually when you make the dish you add a mixture of seafood such as shrimp, scallops, squid, fish, clams, and/or mussels. For my dish I only added a nice portion of clams. I even included side dishes of Kimchi. You have to have Kimchi if you are enjoying a Korean dish. It’s almost mandatory. I was lucky enough that the local grocery store sold it in a bottle and it was pretty good. I have made my very own kimchi in the past and I would always recommend making your own. Since I was short on time, buying it already pre-made is no harm done.

soondubu-590x5301

Why is this a dinner to remember? Because of the spicy broth. Nothing beats the cold winter like a stew with a kick. After everything has been cooked in the dolsot stone bowl you crack an egg and let it sit at the top. It gently cooks in the dolsot bowl while you carry the dish to the table to be served.

Down below I provided the recipe by Maangchi. This is the recipe I used. Maangchi is very entertaining to watch. I’ve subscribed to her social media handles and even bought her book.
I would suggest for you to subscribe to her as well.real9

Get a dolsot bowl if you don’t already have one. You should treat yourself, especially if you like trying different foods from all around the world. At the very least, you should search for a Korean restaurant near you and try this amazing dish.

Check out the recipe video here add-logo-to-youtube-1

 

 

 

I hope you enjoyed this quick post. Let me know how your Soft Tofu soup turns out. Thanks for reading!

Cheers,

– Ben J.

Leave a comment